By Luana M. Graves Sellars
Photo Credit: LMGS
Representing the vital importance of education to the Gullah, the Cherry Hill School still stands as yet another cherished location along the Beach City Corridor. Built in 1937, and financially maintained by the Gullah community, the one-room schoolhouse was the first building on Hilton Head that was soly purposed for educating 30 elementary students at a time between 1st and 5th grade. Previously, children were taught across the street in an area within the St. James Church.
Currently owned by the Historic St. James Baptist Church, the building serves as an annex for meetings, church functions and a soup kitchen.
© Lowcountry Gullah LLC and www.lowcountrygullah.com, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Lowcountry Gullah and www.lowcountrygullah.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.